Rochester Teen Film Festival


Thursday, August 4, 2022 | 5:30pm
Little Theatre 1 (240 East Ave)

Doors open at 5:00pm.
 and open to the public.
Film screening, awards ceremony, and reception.

 WXXI Public Media and The Little Theatre are proud to sponsor the Rochester Teen Film Festival, a collaborative, juried media competition for youth (13-18 years old) in the Rochester region, honoring the work of urban, suburban, and rural teen filmmakers and providing young people an authentic opportunity to participate in a real film festival.

The Lineup and Awards:

  • Award: Best Screenplay 
    Film: SHOTGUN
    Filmmaker: Evan Breckman 

    Award: Best Public Service Message 
    Filmmaker: Emma Barstow 

    Award: Most Innovative Film 
    Film: ANOTHER 
    Filmmaker: Beatrix Wun 


    Award: Best Narration 
    Film: TEN 
    Filmmakers: Arianna Knolla + Rowan Wilkens 


    Award: Best Cinematography 
    Film: THE KEY 
    Filmmaker: Samuel Owens


    Award: Best Art Design 
    Filmmaker: Harrison + Jack Saxon 


    Award: The Alex Ketchek Award for Best Animated Film 
    Film: OLD WORLD 
    Filmmaker: Andrei Campbell 


    Award: The Marilyn O’Connor Award for Social Justice 
    Filmmaker: Patrick O’Connor Mason 


    Award: The Jack Garner Award for Best Director 
    Film: THE COST 
    Filmmaker: Luka Galle 

    Award: Philip Seymour Hoffman Best of Festival Award 

    Film: THE UNATTAINABLE DREAM: Redlining in Rochester, NY 

    Filmmakers: The Edison Career & Technology High School Digital Media Students  

    De’Asia Anderson  

    Ginalys Cotto 

    Alanis Gaetan 

    Genesis Gonzalez 

    Ashley Offen 

    Daymaris Ponce Pagan 

    Noah White 

    Edgar DeJesus 

    Lastephanie Gause 

    Daniel Huertas 

    Samara Martin 

    Joshuan Perez Pacheco 

    Amir Reeves 

    Samuel Swift 

    Nasjier Thomas 

    Barinua Tor 

    La’Jai White 

    G’Ana Williams 

    Jesiah Benitez 

    Lavone Coleman  

    Tyler Gibson 

    Shinya Hill 

    Jomaris Martinez 

    Yariana Rivera 

    Journey Rose 

    Je’Von Singletary-Alston 

    Jakiya Strong 

    Shawn Wilson  

    Jannice Wynn 


The Little does not check for proof of vaccination. Masks are encouraged but optional, up to individual personal preference. This event will feature general admission (unassigned) seating, and concessions will be open for sale (eating in the lobby and auditorium). Full covid guidelines are available at

The Rochester Teen Film Festival and showcase event is made possible with support from:

Daemen College
Full Measure

Awards and Judging

All submissions are judged by a jury and finalists have been selected to have their films shown at the Little Theatre. The young filmmakers selected as part of this year’s festival will also have a chance to earn one of the following four awards, each of which comes with a cash prize:

The Philip Seymour Hoffman Award

honors the life and legacy of the late Academy Award-winning actor and Fairport, New York native.  The annual award is given to the teen who’s film is chosen by the judges as “Best of Fest.”  The award was established in association with the Hoffman family with funds raised during The Little Theatre’s Philip Seymour Hoffman Tribute Film Series.

Alex Ketchek Award for Best Animated Film

is presented in memory of Alex Ketchek, a 2010 Rochester Teen Film Festival finalist who tragically passed away in 2013.

The Jack Garner Award for Best Director

is a new annual award in the memory of long time RTFF jury member and much beloved and spirited national film critic. It is given through the support of Bonnie Garner and the Garner family. 

The Marilyn O’Connor Award

is presented to a film that addresses a social issue through the lens of compassion, equity and social justice.  Marilyn O’Connor has never crossed a picket line.  She’s been fighting for equality and justice as a youth, a parent, a public defender and Family Court Judge.  She was recognized for mentoring young women in the practice of law as the recipient of the NYS Women’s Bar Association’s Betty Weinberg Ellerin’s Mentoring Award and was one of the founders of the Greater Rochester Association for Women Attorneys, an organization that supports and encourages women in the legal community.