The D'Jangoners

The D'Jangoners


Thursday, April 24
7:30PM  
On Display From: Thursday, November 7
On Display From: Thursday, November 14
On Display From: Thursday, November 21
On Display From: Thursday, December 5
On Display From: Thursday, December 12
On Display From: Thursday, December 19
On Display From: Thursday, December 26
On Display From: Thursday, April 3 to Thursday, April 10
On Display From: Thursday, April 17
On Display From: Thursday, April 24

The Djangoners take their inspiration from Django Reinhardt and his famous Jazz band from late 1930s Paris and London - The Hot Club of France - arguably the most famous Jazz band Europe ever produced. 
Django Reinhardt was born into a family of Gypsies and began playing music early but at age 18, he was seriously injured in a fire that rendered two fingers on his left hand useless and doctors believed he would never play guitar again. Reinhardt persevered in rehabilitation and developed a technique using only two fingers for his spectacular guitar solos. In mid-1930s Paris, Django joined forces with violinist Stephane Grappelli and formed the Hot Club of France, which went on to a prolific recording and performance career popularizing Django's original compositions and his renditions of American jazz classics. 
Today, Django Reinhardt's music is enjoying a resurgence in popularity and The Djangoners are carrying on his legacy true to its tradition featuring Bobby Henrie on lead guitar, Eric Aceto on violin, Harry Aceto on rhythm guitar and Brian Williams on upright bass.